Dmitry Masleev performs Shostakovich | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Dmitry Masleev performs Shostakovich | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 19:30

This concert opens with the charming Overture to Weber’s opera Euryanthe, a work which paved the way for Wagner’s operatic innovations.

This is followed by Martucci’s lush and pensive Notturno. The Orchestra is then joined by Dmitry Masleev for Shostakovich’s energetic Piano Concerto No 2, before the evening is drawn to a close by Tchaikovsky’s monumental Symphony No 6, known as the ‘Pathetique’ Symphony. The Symphony bursts with passion; Tchaikovsky himself described the piece many times in his letters as the best thing he had ever composed.

Overture from Euryanthe
Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826)
Giuseppe Martucci (1856-1909)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 2 in F
Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Symphony No 6 in B minor, 'Pathétique'
Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
London SW1X 9DQ
United Kingdom
51° 29' 37.5432" N, 0° 9' 25.308" W
Event Information Box
£40, £32.50, £25, £15 Available from 020 7730 4500 .
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
Javascript is required to view this map.
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here